About District III

Mohave County’s Third Supervisorial District includes the central and southern portions of Lake Havasu City all the way to the Bill Williams River.  District III is home to the majority of the residents in the incorporated town of Lake Havasu.  District III also includes the unincorporated areas of Horizon Six.

Lake Havasu City was established on September 30, 1963 by a resolution of the Mohave County Board of Supervisors as the Lake Havasu Irrigation and Drainage District, making it a legal entity.  The city was incorporated in 1978.  Lake Havasu is home to the famous London Bridge and well known for its recreational fishing and boating seasons.

The Bill Williams River also located in District III is a 46.3-mile-long river located South of Lake Havasu City. The river proper is the northern border of La Paz County, which it drains in the north, as well as areas of far western Yavapai County. It is a major drainage westwards into the Colorado River of the Lower Colorado River Valley south of Hoover Dam and Lake Mead, and the drainage basin covers portions of northwest, and west-central Arizona. The two tributaries that form the Bill Williams are the Big Sandy River and the Santa Maria River.


Comments are closed.